Organisational Structure

 (click image to enlarge or here to download)

The central component of APEC’s organizational structure is the Leaders’ meeting, which brings together the heads of member economies on an annual basis to discuss contemporary issues as well proposals developed by ministers and subordinate groups and committees. A member economy is selected each year to host these summits and chair the organization’s numerous meetings.

An annual ministerial-level meeting also takes place through APEC, which is typically attended by foreign policy and trade representatives. These meetings provide opportunities to finalize key proposals before they are forwarded to leaders for consideration and final approval.

Senior Officials meetings take place three to four times a year to discuss and refine proposals generated by the array of specialized working committees. The four committees currently part of APEC are: Committee on Trade and Investment; Committee on Economic and Technical Cooperation; Economic Committee; and Budget and Management Committee. APEC also has a range of working groups and sub-committees.

An important organizational feature is the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). ABAC is a body composed of three business leaders from each member country and is responsible for working closely with ministers, senior officials and committees to advance proposals conducive to improving the ease of doing business in the region.

More in this category: « Background & History Geography »

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Pacific Basin Economic Council

Unit 2803-06, 28/F, Harbour Centre, 25 Harbour Road Wanchai, Hong Kong
Tel +852 2815-6550  |  Fax +852 2545-0449  |  Email

© 2017 Pacific Basin Economic Council. All Rights Reserved. Designed By PCG-Asia